Local Run

Never underestimate the simple joy of a local run.

Quite often I find myself heading off in the van or the car to a destination 10-20 miles away to run a in a new area or revisit a trail I haven’t been to for a while. Time constraints and my green credentials don’t allow me to do this all the time so quite often my runs are from my front door. The pictures below show that you should never take a local run for granted no matter how often you do it.

Pretty much every time I run in the local woods I see roe deer. For once I took the camera….. I’m glad I did as when I returned home the woodpecker was feeding on the nuts. As you can no doubt tell these pictures were taken recently, oat and potato harvesting should be a clue. I feel it’s important to enjoy these days as soon the hours of daylight will be getting less and less and scenes like this will no longer be possible. We are in fact already a week passed the autumn equinox. Autumn and winter will however bring their own running experiences albeit probably a bit darker, soggier and colder 🙂

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

