Glentress 10K night run

Having been a mountain biker for more years than I care to mention, Saturday November 19th saw me taking on my first ever organised running event. Me being me this wasn’t a bog standard road race, no, 10k off-road in the dark around Glentress. This area just outside Peebles in the Scottish Borders is an area I know well and also not far from where my sister and her family live so it ticked a lot of boxes entering this.

The event was organised by High Terrain Events and in all the years I have participated in organised events this has to be one of the friendliest and best organised with a really chilled vibe. My gps recorded the distance at 9.7km with just over 560m of ascent. It seemed to go up, then up again before almost 3km of down. Whilst the last 3km was great it highlighted a need for me to do some strength work around my left quads (already started). Did I enjoy it? No. I loved it! The weather was cold and crisp and there was something almost magical about seeing all the lights bobbing about in the forest and at some points being reflected in the water of the lochans. I used a Coleman head torch that did its job superbly.

I am so glad that I enjoyed it as I have also entered the 21k day time event taking place in February, I better get those quads sorted out! Below are some pictures to give you a flavour of the event.

 

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

